Buffalo Chicken Soup

I got this over at Sandy’s blog and HAD to give it a try, since Matt and I both love spicy stuff! It was really good, and a nice change from some of the regular chicken-broth-based soups I often make. I only made one small change: instead of sauteing the celery and chicken in the soup pan with 3 Tbl. of butter, I cooked them in a non-stick pan in about 1 Tbl of butter and then just transferred everything to the soup pot.

Buffalo Chicken Soup
1 Tbl butter
2 cups boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
1 cup thinly chopped celery
1 8oz can tomato sauce
2 – 3 (14 1/2 oz) cans of chicken broth (Nicole’s note: I used 2 cans)
1/2 cup or to taste…Franks Hot Sauce* (or Buffalo Sauce) (Sandy’s note: We like it hot so we use 1/2 cup or more. Nicole’s note: see below.)
2-4 oz. crumbled bleu cheese
black pepper to taste
1 cup (or more) buttermilk (you can make buttermilk by pouring 1 Tbl vinegar into a measuring cup and filling it the rest of the way up to a cup with milk; let it sit a few minutes and it’s ready to go!)

1. Melt butter in a non-stick skillet. Add chopped celery and saute on medium for a few minutes.
2. Add chicken. Saute until cooked through. (Sandy’s note: I often put a little of the broth in at this time to keep from burning). Transfer everything to a stock pot.
3. Stir in tomato sauce, buffalo sauce and broth. Add black pepper to taste (usually about 1/4 teaspoon)
4. Simmer as long as you like (we usually let it go for an hour or so)
5. Turn up to Medium. Add 2-3 oz bleu cheese and the buttermilk (the buttermilk will tone down the hotness so add as much as you like)
6. Bring it back up to a simmer again, and serve!
7. Ladle into bowls – add more crumbled bleu cheese to taste. Garnish with celery sticks. (Oh yeah, I didn’t do this either…I hate raw celery.) Making this with two cans of broth, this made four good-sized servings.

*So, I was trying to save a few cents at the grocery, and bought a different brand of buffalo wing sauce. It was fine, but it was no Frank’s Buffalo Sauce, which is my favorite. If he’ll have me back, I’m going with Frank’s next time, and I recommend you do the same! I probably used close to 2/3 cup.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Flach
    Sep 28, 2009 @ 20:14:18

    I’m definately going to have to try making my own buttermilk next time!!! We usually end up w/ left over buttermilk that doesn’t get used…. Thanks for the tip!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

