Freezer Pizza Sauce

First of all, I loved the name of this.  Freezer.  I thought, if it has freezer in the name it sure must freeze well! 🙂  You all may have a recipe for pizza sauce that you use already, cause I’ve tried lots.  But, this is my favorite!  I love this one.  I found this on recipezaar.com

2 tbspns olive oil
1 cup onions, diced
8 garlic cloves, minced (again, I used the jar kind – already minced!)
1 (28oz) can diced tomatoes
1 (6oz) can tomato paste
2 tsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp dried oregano or 3/4 tsp ground oregano
2 tsp salt
1 tsp dried basil
1 bay leaf
1/8 tsp pepper

In a medium saucepan, heat olive oil on medium heat.  Add onion and garlic and saute until just soft, not browning.  Add the remaining ingredients and simmer 30 minutes, or until sauce is desired consistency.  Use a stick blender or food processor if you prefer a smooth consistency.  ( I used my magic bullet here as I knew a smooth consistency would be better for the kids to eat it.  Otherwise, they may have refused.)

My additions!…..I added baby food sweet potatoes and squash for some hidden veggies!  Now, I only used the baby food because I have some leftover that Kenzie wouldn’t eat anymore.  When those run out, I will definitely cook those veggies and through them in.  You can definitely double this recipe to have more in the freezer.  We actually used some from the freezer the other night for dinner and it tasted like I just made it that night!  I waited to post until I knew it did well in the freezer 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 19:07:18

    I’ll definitely try this!

    What kind of pizza crust do you use?

    Reply

    • kirksonya
      Sep 22, 2009 @ 19:17:02

      Right now, I’m lazy and use boboli whole wheat crust. However, I’ve promised myself next time that I’m going to try making my own to save a little more $$.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

