Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Sara posted her recipe a couple of days ago (which I will be trying soon!) and it got me thinking about a recipe I used last year and tweaked a little to save on calories and fat. I made a batch today (my first of the fall…I love pumpkin so much that I’m giving it it’s own category over there on the right!) and messed with the recipe a bit more, and while these are no where near healthy, I’ll take reduced fat/calories and full flavor any day! For the record, I’ve cut the sugar from 2 cups, the chocolate chips from 2 cups, and the oil from 1 1/2 cups. I added in the applesauce as an oil substitute and changed the flour to include some whole wheat…you might be able to go half and half with the flour and not notice the difference. I’ll try that next time.

4 eggs
1 3/4 cups white sugar
1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup applesauce
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (or 1 1/2) cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Prepare cupcake pans with spray or paper liners. This makes a lot: 24 regular-sized muffins and 12 mini muffins.

Beat the eggs in a large bowl, and mix in the sugar, pumpkin, oil and applesauce.

In a medium bowl, mix the 2 flours, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Blend into the egg and pumpkin mixture. Fold in the chocolate chips. Transfer to the muffin pans.

Bake in the preheated oven 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Remove muffins from pans, and cool on a wire rack (or the counter if you’re like me and too lazy to get out your wire racks).

do you like i how class things up with the lightning mcqueen papers?

do you like i how class things up with the lightning mcqueen papers?

Leave a Reply

