Inside Out Crab Rangoon

DipButtonHey, BooMama fans! Thanks for stopping by…I just added this recipe to her Diptacular 2009 post! Head over there for links to 200+ dip recipes!

Disclaimer: I HATE SEAFOOD. Pretty much any and all. With the exception of crab rangoon, and that’s because there are other key ingredients present, namely cream cheese and garlic.

We first had this dip last winter when we got together with some friends and one of them made it for our appetizer. It was SO GOOD and I forgot about it until recently. When we had a cookout with my family on Saturday evening, I decided to give it a try.

I found the recipe online somewhere, but the directions weren’t very good, and I’ve changed a couple of things. Trust me, I learned the hard way making this the first time, so if you make it, follow my instructions for making the wontons…it will go much, much smoother than when I made it!

Inside Out Crab Rangoon
1 tsp milk
1 tsp Worchestershire sauce
2 8-oz pkgs. light cream cheese, softened
1 tsp garlic salt
1 can white crab meat (I could only bring myself to put in half a can; I may do a little more next time, but I’m not making any promises)
1 chopped green onion
Sweet and sour sauce (we like World Harbors brand)
1 pkg egg roll wrappers
melted butter or butter spray (eww, but whatever, it would probably work)
garlic salt

1. Mix the first 6 ingredients in a bowl. If you’re taking this somewhere, I recommend putting it in a little crockpot to stay warm. If you’re serving this at home, you could probably just spread it out in a shallow dish and pop it in the oven for a few minutes.
2. Prepare wonton “chips.” First, melt some butter in a bowl and sprinkle in some garlic salt.
3. Take 2 cookie sheets and brush a light layer of the butter on the whole sheet.
4. Cut the egg roll wrappers into 8 pieces (once down the middle, then into fourths) with a pizza cutter. DO NOT stack up a bunch of them and cut them…you will spend FOREVER separating them. Just cut one at a time on a cutting board. Lay them in a single layer on the cookie sheet, and brush a little more butter on top.
5. Bake at 425 for 3-4 minutes. They will go from lightly brown to burnt quickly, so be watching! And, remove them from the pan immediately because they will continue to bake on the pan if you don’t do this. Don’t ask me how I know. You’ll have to make a few batches of these.
6. Right before you’re ready to eat this masterpiece, pour a thin layer of sweet and sour sauce over the top of the cream cheese mixture. After people have been eating it for a while, you might want to add more sauce to the top.
7. Dig in, and prepare to receive compliments!

*I attempted one batch using Pam sprayed on the wontons, and I didn’t think that the flavor was great. If I had an olive oil mister, I might have tried that, too, but I don’t have one…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 21:07:48

    I know I am really dense. So the wrappers just serve as “scoops” for the crab mixture, right? This sounds so good I’m about drooling.

    Reply

  2. Jill (thebaglady)
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 14:13:21

    I made this for Bunoco this weekend, and it was a HUGE success!! I, too hate all things seafood. These are awesome though! I didn’t even mess up the “chips”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

