Beans for Supper

I promised my brother Zach, who I got this recipe from, that I’d title the post that way. It’s in reference to an old song that our brother, Jake, and cousin, Eric, made up on our electronic keyboard when we were kids. As you may imagine, given the title of the song, there were incredible sound effects. I’m not sure my mom liked this song, but I really wish there was a recording of it somewhere.

Michon made these beans on Saturday evening and they were soooo good. Zach claims that he made up this recipe; Michon is pretty sure her sister Jackie gave it to her. We’ll go ahead and call its origins “unknown.”

Soy Sauce Green Beans
1T olive oil
2 cloves minced garlic
1T sugar
3T soy sauce
1 lb bag frozen green beans
2T whole flax seeds

Combine first 4 ingredients into a pot, stir together, then add frozen green beans to the mixture. Cook covered on medium heat until green beans are soft (roughly 15 minutes of cooking time). Be sure to stir beans occasionally while cooking so that all of the beans absorb some of the sauce. Stir in the flax seeds for the last minute or two of cooking time.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hayley
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 14:39:48

    LOL LOL!! I’m pretty sure there is a cassette tape somewhere with this song on it 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nana Jo
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 20:34:44

    I loved these! Ron didn’t comment, so I know he wasn’t “wowed”–but he isn’t much on green beans anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

