Pasta Milano

This is a recipe that my mom and dad gave me a long time ago, and Matt and I made it a couple of times and then forgot about it! When Tiffany posted a recipe with a Knorr’s mix on her new cooking blog I had to look this one up! (I copied this from my own recipe book, but after looking around on the internet, I think my mom found it here!)

I remember thinking that this tasted like a restaurant meal…really good, and pretty quick and easy. This makes 3-4 servings, but since the kids don’t eat it, it’ll be something I make for just Matt and me sometime soon.

OK – made this tonight, and I’ve adjusted the recipe accordingly. We omitted the sundried tomatoes because neither of us is a huge fan. It made TONS of food…this could probably feed 6 adults for dinner if you’ve got sides to go with it.

Pasta Milano

9-10 oz. uncooked farfalle (bowtie) pasta
1 T unsalted butter, divided (I’m sure I used salted)
1 pkg (8 oz) sliced mushrooms
1 1/2 cups fat-free half & half
1 packet (1.6 oz) Knorr’s Garlic Herb sauce mix
2 cups of leftover grilled chicken breast strips (or 1 6-oz package of grilled chicken breast strips)
1/3 cup sliced sundried tomatoes
2 T grated Parmesan cheese
2 T fresh chopped parsley

1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Add pasta; cook as directed.
2. Meanwhile, make sauce: melt 1 tsp of butter in a large, non-stick skillet. Add mushrooms; saute 5 minutes or until lightly browned and tender. Remove.
3. Add half & half and sauce mix to skillet; stir to blend. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring often. Reduce heat; simmer 3 minutes, or until thickened.
4. Stir in remaining 2 tsp butter, the mushrooms, chicken, tomatoes and cheese. Cook, stirring, 1 minute to heat through.
5. Drain pasta, reserving 1/4 cup cooking water. Return pasta to pot; add sauce, cooking water and parsley; toss to mix.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jill (thebaglady)
    Jan 11, 2010 @ 14:16:42

    OMGosh! I made this today (& I didn’t mess it up) and it is SOOO good! I’m keeping this recipe handy for sure. Thanks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

