Chicken with White Wine and Parsley

Ours was just “chicken with white wine” because my parsley had gone bad, but I’m sure the parsley part is good, too!

I’m pretty sure this came from Prevention magazine…

1/4 c. all purpose flour
1 lb thin-sliced boneless, skinless chicken breasts (slice them pretty thin)
3 T olive oil, divided (I thought this was a bit much)
3/4 c white wine or chicken broth (I used a combo b/c I had broth that I didn’t want to waste)
freshly squeezed juice of 1/2 lemon
2 T roughly chopped flat-leaf parsley

Put flour on plate (I added some salt and pepper at this point) and coat both sides of chicken.

Heat 1 T of oil in nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. When oil is hot, add 1/3-1/2 of chicken and cook for 3 minutes on each side or until done. Remove to plates, and repeat with remaining oil and chicken.

Pour wine and lemon juice into pan. Cook over high heat until about 1/4-1/2 cup remains (really watch the pan…I stepped away for a minute and the sauce had totally evaporated…so I had to reconstitute it, and it wasn’t as good as it should have been). Season with salt and pepper. Stir in parsley, spoon sauce around chicken, and serve.

For the kids, I just didn’t put any sauce on their chicken and they ate it cut up and dipped in ketchup (because they’ll eat ketchup on pretty much anything).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jmlange13
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 15:29:53

    I don’t get the kids-and-ketchup thing but it seems pretty universal. Fortunately most of us outgrow that. 🙂

    Reply

  2. kirksonya
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 19:54:45

    Made this tonight! I only used half the amount of olive oil. I probable won’t use as much lemon next time, but that’s just a personal preference. I’m not a huge lemon fan. Kirk loved the flavor though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

