Quinoa Pilaf

Several weeks, ago, I tried the South American grain quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) for the first time, and I loved it. I had heard of it before, along with all of its amazing health benefits, but I’d never eaten it. I’m so glad I did! I immediately found some at the grocery store, and got online to figure out how in the world to prepare it.

I initially used a recipe from allrecipes.com that I wasn’t particularly fond of…although I liked all of the ingredients in the dish I chose, the combination just wasn’t for me. Plus, since that one was spicy and had black beans in it, I took some out when it was a bit plainer to give to the boys and I really liked the flavor of theirs better. (The boys like theirs with a little bit of sweet and sour sauce on top, like they eat their rice.)

So, I combined a few recipes to come up with this. Give it a try…I really think that you’ll like it if you like rice. I bought prerinsed quinoa – Dierbergs had Ancient Harvest brand, so that’s what I used. I know that Bob’s Red Mill makes it, too, but it’s pretty expensive. Some companies make pasta out of quinoa, too. If you buy a brand (like Trader Joe’s) that is not prerinsed, be sure to follow the rinsing directions.

Quinoa Pilaf
2 tsp olive oil
1 small chopped onion
3 minced garlic cloves
5-6 chopped baby carrots
¾ cup uncooked quinoa
1½ cups chicken broth
Salt & Pepper

Saute onion, garlic and carrots in oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Cook until onion is lightly browned.

Add quinoa and broth, and salt & pepper. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes.

I feel like there are lots of things that you could do with this: add peppers and some chili-type seasonings and make it more like Spanish rice, for instance. Let me know if you try something different, or know of another way to prepare quinoa!

We had this tonight for dinner with Chicken with White Wine. Yum!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jmlange13
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 19:56:38

    I’m glad you posted this. After you said you had this at the restaurant I started just kind of casually looking for it at the grocery stores (found it at Wal-Mart). But after that I wondered what to do with it.

    Reply

  2. kirksonya
    Aug 02, 2009 @ 19:55:42

    Made this tonight too! Very yummy. I’ll definitely make this again and will also be trying variations with it. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

