Cilantro Lime Chicken with Avocado Salsa

This was a new recipe we tried tonight from my cooking light magazine.  I had actually forgotten about it until my friend Sarah reminded me of it and told me how good it was.  It was yummy.  We’ll definitely be having this meal often.

Chicken:

2 tbspns minced fresh cilantro
2 1/2 tbspns fresh lime juice
1 1/2 tbspns olive oil
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1/4 tsp salt

Salsa:

1 cup chopped tomato
2 tbspns finely chopped onion
2 tsp fresh lime juice
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp ground pepper
1 avocado, peeled and finely chopped

1.  To prepare chicken, combine first four ingredients.  Toss and let stand 3 minutes.  Remove chicken from marinade; discard marinade.  Sprinkle chicken with salt and grill for about 6 minutes on each side or until done.

2.  To prepare salsa, combine tomato with the next four ingredients.  Add avocado and gently stir.  Serve salsa over chicken.

My variations – I marinaded longer than 3 minutes.  It was probably in the marinade for 15 minutes.  I also didn’t add salt to the chicken before grilling. (side note – Kirk and I “borrowed” this food program from my brother and watched our food intake for a week.  It was amazing how high our sodium levels were so I try not to use salt unless I think necessary)  I served this with spanish rice.  It was a big hit with the adults.  The kids wouldn’t try it…..which surprised me with Kayla because she has tried both guacamole and tomatoes before and likes chicken.  Give it a try, I think you’ll like it!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 21:21:51

    yum…this sounds great! We’ve made our own salsa/guacamole several times using the Pioneer Woman’s recipe, but we’ve never put it on chicken. We’ll definitely try this!

    PS…I don’t add salt to much of anything when I’m cooking, either…I figure if it really needs it, it can be added later.

    Reply

  2. Jill (thebaglady)
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 18:50:41

    Girls, you’re my heros. I don’t like to cook & usually make the same (boring) things over and over. I’ve just copied several of your recipes & am actually excited about try them! Thanks for having such good stuff in one place!
    -Jill Hagler

    Reply

Leave a Reply

