Breaded Baked Chicken

OK, here’s the scoop – it’s obviously chicken week on this blog (see Sonya’s previous post!). Here’s my contribution.

I’m going to post the original recipe I received, and then the changes I’ve made to make it not so unhealthy, but still delicious.

6 chicken breasts
1 c. seasoned bread crumbs
1/2 c. parmesan cheese
1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese
6 Tbl. melted butter

Put bread crumbs and cheeses in a food processor and mix. Pour out onto a plate. Dip chicken in butter and then coat with mixture. Put in 9×13 dish sprayed with Pam. Top with remaining butter and breading. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes covered, and then 10 minutes uncovered.

Sounds yummy, right? It is. Trust me. But I’ve made some changes to reduce fat/calories, and I don’t think anyone really notices around here.

In place of some of the breadcrumbs, I use milled flax seed. It’s good, good for you, and gives food kind of a nutty flavor. You can substitute as much as you want for the breadcrumbs, maybe up to half and half. I think I usually use about 2/3 breadcrumbs (seasoned Panko) and 1/3 flax seed. Next, I only use about 3 Tbl. melted butter, and I brush it on the chicken instead of dipping the chicken in it…it takes significantly less butter this way, and the taste is the same.

Let me know what you think if you try it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jamie
    Nov 10, 2009 @ 19:12:06

    i made this tonight because i had all of the ingredients already. i have made something similar in the past but didn’t have the recipe. i added some garlic to the bread crumb mixture as well (simply because i love garlic) and it was delicious and very easy. 2 thumbs up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

