Almond Stuffed Chicken

This recipe came from a cooking light magazine.  So. Good.  I decided to try this one on our anniversary because I had a commitment with one of the kids and we couldn’t go out.  It was delicious.  Wasn’t something the kids ate, but I’ll definitely be making this again.  In fact, so good, my husband said, “This tastes awesome.  Like a meal you would get at macaroni grill or something.”  Definitely give this one a try.

1/3 cup light garlic-and-herbs spreadable cheese
1/4 cup slivered almonds, toasted, coarsely chopped, and divided
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley, divided
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 1/2 teaspoons butter

Combine spreadable cheese, 3 tablespoons almonds, and 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley in a small bowl.  Set aside.  Cut a horizontal slit through thickest portion of each breast half to form a pocket.  Stuff 1 1/2 tablespoons almond mixture into each pocket; secure each pocket with a wooden pick.  Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper.  Heat butter in a  large nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Add chicken to pan; cook 6 minutes on each side or until done.  Remove from pan; cover and let stand 2 minutes.  Top chicken with remaining 1 tbsp almonds and remaining 1 tbsp parsley.

Things I did a little differently:

1.  I toasted the almonds in the same pan I used to cook the chicken….that way, you only dirty one pan and two, the butter melts quickly for cooking the chicken because the pan is already warm.

2.  Instead of using just plain salt and pepper, I used garlic salt and seasoned pepper.

3.  I didn’t cover and let stand for 2 minutes.  Really, I didn’t because I didn’t read the entire recipe 🙂

4.  I did downsize this a little bit and just made two chicken breasts.  I went ahead and put the entire recipe b/c I thought this would be great to make for company!

I served this with parmesan couscous and a veggie.  Delicious.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 09:01:46

    This sounds great! And Happy Anniversary – just saw it on my calendar, and I’m only a day late! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nana Jo
    Apr 30, 2009 @ 16:40:26

    Just made this tonight; it was delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

