Spaghetti and Meatballs

I’ve always been opposed to making meatballs because they seem like so much work. First you have to make them, then fry them up in a pan for a while, then bake them…ugh. I don’t have the patience for that.

But, a couple of years ago, I ran across a recipe for these meatballs that I’m about to share with you…and the most beautiful part is that you boil them in spaghetti sauce. No joke. And they have cheese stuffed inside. What’s not to love?

Luke actually hugged me the night that I told him we were having this for dinner. Seriously, the only other food to get that kind of a reaction from him is pizza, so you know that this is a favorite! If you don’t eat ground beef, I’m sure you could easily substitute ground chicken or turkey in this recipe.

1 lb. lean ground beef
1/2 cup Italian seasoned dry bread crumbs (I’ve been using Panko lately…love them)
1 egg
2 oz mozzarella cheese, cut into 10-12 cubes
1 jar (26 oz) Ragu Traditional pasta sauce (I prefer Ragu – if you use something else, make sure it’s just smooth sauce and not chunky…that won’t work well here)
8 oz spaghetti, cooked and drained

In medium bowl, combine ground beef, bread crumbs and egg; shape into 10-12 meatballs. Press 1 cheese cube into the center of each meatball, enclosing completely.

In a 3-qt saucepan, bring pasta sauce to a boil over medium-high heat. Gently stir in uncooked meatballs.

Reduce heat to low and simmer covered, stirring occasionally (and very gently!), about 20 minutes or until meatballs are done. Serve over hot spaghetti. (some of the meatballs might have some cheese melt out – no big deal!)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sara luke
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 19:23:58

    Made this one last week . . . LOVED. IT.

    But I have burns on my arms from spaghetti sauce spatter. Do you usually stir the sauce while the meatballs are cooking or just let them sit?

    Reply

    • Nicole
      Apr 27, 2009 @ 20:41:34

      I do stir the sauce a few times, but mine doesn’t spatter quite as much as it sounded like yours did! You can maybe turn the heat down a notch next time to avoid so much popping out at you (and cover the pan while the meatballs are in there, too). Glad you liked it! I made meatloaf tonight, and Luke told me he liked the meatballs much, much better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

