Pumpkin Bread

This recipe came from a local bakery’s mailing one time several years ago, and I’m not sure why, but I’d never made it until fairly recently. And oh my goodness, is it good. I also happen to believe that pumpkin bread is good any time of the year, not just in the fall, which is why I made it yesterday morning when we had friends over to play.

2/3 cup canola oil
2 2/3 cups sugar
4 large eggs
1 15-oz can pumpkin
2/3 cup water
3 1/3 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground nutmeg (I use 1/2 tsp)
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (I use 1 tsp)
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease and flour two 9×5″ loaf pans.

In large bowl of an electric mixer, beat together oil and sugar. Beat in eggs, pumpkin and water. Add all dry ingredients; mix well. Beat in vanilla.

Spoon half the batter into each pan. Bake 1 hour or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let cool before removing from pans. Makes about 20-24 slices.

**I added a few chocolate chips, and I don’t recommend it…they taste great, of course, but because this is a relatively thin batter, they just sink to the bottom of the pan when baking. Also, the top of this bread gets pretty brown. Don’t worry!

The recipe also gives this variation, which I’m sure would be delicious: for Pumpkin Praline Bread, stir together 1 cup chopped pecans, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, and 4 tsp melted butter. Sprinkle over loaves before baking.

Leave a Reply

