Ham ‘n Cheese Spaghetti Bake

This is a very quick and easy week night meal.  It’s all done in the microwave with the exception of cooking the spaghetti.  My kids would devour this when they were little.  I would even put it in the food grinder when they were a new 1 yr old and they would eat it all.  Now?  Neither one will touch it.  I have no idea why.  Kayla loves lasagna and ravioli, but for some reason won’t do spaghetti and other types of noodles.  Andrew just won’t touch anything pasta.  He’s crazy if you ask me!

1 small onion, chopped
1 4oz can sliced mushrooms, drained
2 tblspns butter/margarine
1 cup cottage cheese
1 cup sour cream
1/2 tsp celery salt (the recipe calls for this although I’ve never used it simply because I don’t have any in the house and see no need to buy it for this recipe)
1/4 tsp pepper
8 oz spaghetti, cooked and drained
3 cups cubed ham (I tend to use only 2 to 2 1/2 cups, 3 seems to be too much for us)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

In a 12 x 7 x 2 (never knew this recipe had the actual dimensions of the dish 🙂 baking dish, combine onions, mushrooms, and margarine.  Microwave, covered, for 3 1/2 minutes, stirring once.  Stir in cottage cheese, sour cream, celery salt, and pepper.  Add spaghetti and ham – mix well.  Cover.  Cook for 12-14 minutes.  Sprinkle cheese on top and recover.  Let stand until cheese is melted.

I just serve a vegetable and dinner rolls on the side.  This is definitely a yummy quick dish to make!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 17:43:28

    I made this for dinner tonight; it was simple & delicious! I made it exactly like the directions, except I was extra lazy & just used onion flakes (then only had to microwave until the butter was melted). Ron liked it, so I’ll definitely make again.

    Reply

  2. Nicole
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 20:18:20

    I think I’m going to try this with chicken next week…I’ll let you know what we think! I love how we’re swapping out the meats our own families will eat in each other recipes! (You know, since your family eats ham, you might try that in my spaghetti casserole recipe!)

    And I LOVE that this is cooked in the microwave.

    Reply

    • Nana Jo
      Mar 17, 2009 @ 20:26:55

      Funny you should mention your spag. casserole – I have that on my short list of easy things to make soon! It’s similar to another one I make, but somehow someone else’s just makes me feel like it’s not boring!

      Reply

  3. Jill
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 17:27:00

    We love this! I’ve linked a few things to it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

