Spicy Chicken Stir-Fry

This recipe came out of one of Kirk’s magazines.  I LOVE it!  It’s a great recipe for 2 people as my kids will not touch this.  I usually buy enough veggies/meat to make it twice in one week.  You can add whatever veggies you like.  I’ve done various veggies each time I’ve made this.  Here is my favorite so far:

4 tsp peanut oil
1/2 tsp red-pepper flakes
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
2/3 cup asparagus tips
2/3 cup thinly sliced carrots
2/3 cup green beans
4 tbsp sliced almonds
4 tsp reduced-sodium soy sauce

Combine the peanut oil and red-pepper flakes in a medium-hot skillet.  Add the chicken and cook for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add the remaining ingredients and cook for another 2-3 minutes, still stirring often.  Serve over rice.  I’ve used jasmine rice when I’ve made this, but the next time I’m going to use brown rice.  Yum.

This is definitely a meal that you can’t walk away from while making.  Just an FYI for those of you with little ones around.  I usually save a TV show for the kids while I’m making this and put the baby in the exersaucer with a little snack 🙂

Nicole’s update:
Here’s our favorite veggie combo: red and green peppers, onions, mushrooms, carrots and sugar snap peas. And, we use a whole tsp. of red pepper flakes.

stir fry

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 19:02:28

    matt will LOVE this one, for sure. what other veggies have you used?

    Reply

  2. kirksonya
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 20:14:32

    bite sized onions, frozen snow peas….I’m not really a huge fan of peas anyway though.

    Reply

  3. Nicole
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 20:49:09

    We had this for dinner tonight!

    Matt and I cooked together after the boys went to bed, as is custom on a Saturday night (or, we do carryout).

    We used olive oil b/c Trader Joe’s didn’t have peanut oil, and I had olive oil at home. The vegetables we used were sugar snap peas, baby carrots that I cut into thin strips, thinly sliced green pepper and thinly sliced mushrooms. Because we like our vegetables cooked a bit more than traditional stir fry, after I added the vegetables I cooked it for more like 4-6 minutes. I also put about 5 drops of sesame oil in at the end, and that was great. We served it over brown rice.

    We LOVED it! I will definitely use a whole tsp of red pepper next time for more spice, and I’ll pick up peanut oil at the grocery next time I’m there.

    Thank you so much! This will be a part of our regular rotation!

    Reply

    • kirksonya
      Mar 09, 2009 @ 12:54:56

      Didn’t even think about mushrooms and I LOVE mushrooms. I’m adding them the next time I make this!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

