Quiche

The official name of this recipe is “Quickie Quiche.” I’m not a big fan of the word “quickie” when it relates to food, so we’re just going to call this, um, “Easy Quiche.” Or how about just “Quick Quiche?” There’s a funny old George W. Bush joke about quiche, but I won’t go there.

So, here’s the recipe:

QUICHE
1 (9-inch) refrigerated pie crust
6-7 slices of bacon
1/2 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (I used cheddar)
5 eggs
1 cup skim milk
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425. Press crust into a 9-inch pie pan and bake for 5-7 minutes. Remove, and reduce oven temperature to 375.

In a small skillet, cook bacon until crisp. Remove from skillet and drain on paper towels. Discard all but 1 Tbl of deliciously artery-clogging bacon fat drippings (mmm). Saute onion in bacon fat drippings for about 2 minutes; remove pan from heat. Crumble bacon and set aside.

Sprinkle half of the cheese over the bottom of the pie shell. Evently distribute bacon and onion over the cheese.

In a small bowl, beat eggs, milk and salt and pepper. Pour mixture over bacon and onion. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and bake 30-35 minutes, until golden brown.

I think that this came from Parenting magazine, but because I can never leave well-enough alone, I made a few changes. First of all, this calls for 3 eggs. Seriously? For a whole pie crust? No way. I needed this to actually feed my family, so I beefed up the eggs and milk a bit. And you could probably do more if you have a larger family to feed! Also, when I make this later this week, I’m just using real bacon bits. I know they’re not as good, and then I don’t have bacon fat to cook in, but I’ll just saute the onion in a bit of oil. I don’t want to waste the bacon bits, and it will be even faster to put together on a busy night.

Oh, best of all, the kids ate this when I made it last time. Even Bennett, who claims that “eggs are nasty,” ate a piece (that quote actually goes back more than a year, when at my parents’ house for breakfast one morning, he announced out of nowhere, “eggs is nasty.” Unfortunately, due to the hilarity it caused at the table, he continues in this belief. But he will try them every time I make them, so we’re making progress.).

This may or may not have been uttered by me tonight before our dinner (of tacos): “Boys, please make my day by not whining about what we’re having for dinner.” Seriously. If I’m not serving chicken nuggets, mac and cheese, pizza or pb&j, they’re complaining. Even if it’s stuff they do actually like! So annoying.

THIS JUST IN: BOTH boys ate dinner without a complaint! Apparently they just needed a heads-up that I don’t enjoy whining.

Leave a Reply

