Leftover Vegetable Soup

I learned how to be frugal from my mom…who didn’t like to throw food away. Now, I don’t either, but I also don’t like to eat leftovers much, especially leftover vegetables. But I have the perfect solution.

On a regular night at our house for dinner, I’m serving corn (frozen), peas (frozen), green beans (canned) or carrots (fresh). When I cook too much of any of them, I just take the leftovers and stick them in the freezer in a ziploc bag. My mom always used a small ice cream container, so whatever you have room for works.

But, vegetables aren’t the only things that get put in the freezer bag o’ miscellany. I also stick any leftover chunks of roast beef or steak in there, too (I recommend cutting it into bite-sized pieces; don’t just throw a chunk of roast in there or you’ll have a messy job later). And any gravy or broth from cooking beef goes in the container, too (if you make Italian beef and put some of that broth in it’s really yummy). Just keep adding stuff to the bag/container until it’s full.

Then, stick it in a stock pot on the stove or in the crock pot. Add vegetables that seem to be lacking (we usually don’t have enough of every kind in there for a full pot of soup). I always put in a can of kidney beans, and add a can of petite diced tomatoes (and some tomato paste if you really like tomato flavor). I throw in several whole celery stalks as well as a bunch of large onion slices for the cooking process, and then just throw them out when it’s cooked. Season it how you like: I put a clove or two of crushed garlic, salt and pepper in the mix. I would put tabasco in but the kids don’t like things too spicy, so that’s just a garnish when serving. If there’s not enough (or any) beef broth, just add the canned kind or a couple of bouillion cubes and some water.

Let it cook for several hours in the crock pot. It’s great with cornbread or these saltine crackers, which you can get at Cracker Barrel.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessiedog
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 00:10:40

    A great frugal recipe…thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

  2. kim
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 09:32:20

    My mom does this exact thing for veggie soup. It always tastes great and you would never know it was from leftovers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

