Homemade Pizza Rolls

I’ve been eyeing this recipe for a couple of weeks now, and tonight I finally tried it. It was a meal that was suggested for the recent meal swap that I participated in, and no one made it but I thought it looked really good.

It’s Holly Clegg’s Italian Pizza Rolls.

They were easy and even kind of fun to make (I’d never used egg roll wrappers before!), and I also loved that the recipe included chopped carrot. And, I thought they were delicious! The boys actually liked them, too. They still asked me how many bites they had to eat, because I swear they always do, even if they like something. But, there was no gagging. This one gets a thumbs-up!

What I did differently than the recipe:
1. Because the recipe calls for a half a pound of ground sirloin, and I have lean ground beef frozen in one-pound packages, I decided to double this recipe (seriously…who has a half a pound of meat?). It’s very little extra work, and you’re creating another meal that can go in the freezer. Freezing them was simple; after they’re rolled up, you freeze them on a cookie sheet and then transfer them to a bag or container when frozen. EDITED TO ADD: These don’t bake up nearly as well after they’ve been frozen. Still edible, but they don’t stay together very well.
2. Instead of the separate spices it called for, I just an Italian Herb Blend.
3. I didn’t use near the amount of green pepper it called for; I’m not crazy about the taste of green pepper, and the kids prefer their food without “green stuff.” I just bought several slices from the salad bar at the grocery store today.
4. It says to put 2 Tbl. of the meat mixture in each wrapper; that seemed like not enough to me. Instead of using 18 wrappers like I would have needed per her instructions, I used 14. I made a couple of them a little smaller for the boys, which was definitely a good idea. The bigger ones were much messier, but Matt and I didn’t mind using a fork when necessary.
5. I used butter to grease the cookie sheet, and boy am I glad I did. They stick very easily; non-stick spray, at that high a temperature, would have just gotten the pan all sticky.

Here’s what I will do differently next time:
1. I might consider making these with sausage and ground beef mixed together; it would just punch up the taste a bit.
2. If I was making these as appetizers (as Matt suggested), I would definitely use a smaller amount of the mixture in each to make them easier to hold and eat.
3. I’d say that you could even increase the amount of chopped carrot and it will not interfere with the taste.
4. I might turn the heat down just a touch and rotate them more than twice while baking, which would make them crispier all over (and make them taste more like they were fried).

I’ll definitely be making these again!

UPDATE: I made these again, and the boys were less thrilled this time with them. Ugh. I can’t win.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana Jo
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 16:07:53

    OK, these sound good. I’ve never made anything w/ egg roll wrappers. I’m so bored with what I make, so this intrigues me. Thanks for your extra tips. I’ll let you know.

    Reply

  2. sistersara
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 08:33:55

    I made these – i loved them – but i can eat pizza type meals 21 times a week and it doesn’t bother me – Abby liked – Katie – her opinion doesn’t count yet – Jason – he thought they were “okay”
    But i plan to make them for myself again (and Abby) – and i froze them and had no problem with the baking them later – they stayed together and tasted nearly as good as “fresh”
    I give this one a THUMBS UP!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

