Deceptively Delicious: Chicken Enchilada Skillet

Last night I doctored up a skillet chicken enchilada recipe to include carrot puree…it went over well! This is kind of a bland recipe but the boys like it, so I’ll post it here with my suggestions to improve it. I had planned to cook up some chopped onion with the chicken when I made this, but I had such a rough day with sick Jack Henry that I didn’t have the time or energy to do so. Here’s the recipe in case you all want to try it.

Chicken Enchilada Skillet
1 T olive oil (you can get by with less since it’s a non-stick skillet you’re using)
1 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into bite-sized pieces
some finely chopped onion (like I said, I didn’t do this but I think it would be good…maybe some green pepper too)
1 (14.5 oz) can of reduced-sodium chicken broth
1/4 cup light Ranch dressing
1/2 cup carrot puree
2 T flour
6 flour tortillas, cut into small pieces (roughly 1×1″ or so)…I prefer La Banderita tortillas…if anyone has a REALLY good whole grain tortilla that they like, please let me know…this is one area that I have not been able to switch to whole grain because they always feel and taste like cardboard.
1 cup shredded cheddar or colby jack or Mexican blend cheese
salsa – if you’re in the St. Louis area, get Hacienda salsa. It’s the best!

Heat oil in a large, deep skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken (and vegetables, if you choose) and cook about 7 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through, stirring occasionally.

Mix broth, dressing, puree, and flour and gradually add to the skillet, stirring constantly. Add tortillas and stir to combine. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 3 minutes.

Sprinkle with cheese, cover, and simmer 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Top with salsa (the kids don’t eat it this way).

**NOTE: because I thought this was tasting a bit bland sans onions/peppers, I decided to stir in a little enchilada sauce (since it was already tinted orange from the carrots). This was fine, too! However, I used the last can I had of the worst red enchilada sauce ever made, Old El Paso. It’s so bad compared to my favorite, La Victoria.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Angela Reinhart
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 17:00:56

    I have found with the whole wheat/whole grain tortillas that they are either like cardboard or really gummy! As you know, I use purees as well, so I might try and make this sometime this week – thanks for the new recipe!

    Take care – Angela

    Reply

Leave a Reply

