Christmas Cooking: Chex Party Mix

I’ve decided to post a couple of my favorite Christmas time recipes, and I’m starting with an old standby…Party Mix!

Over the last few years, I’ve tried a couple of different recipes, but I think that my parents’ recipe is the best by far. I remember my mom telling me once that it was the old “original” recipe from the box. I’ve started making it with only the stuff we really like, because I don’t like when the dregs are filled with just Cheerios and pretzels (not calling out any family members here Zach). So here’s the original:

1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
2 Tbl Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbl garlic salt
1 Tbl onion salt
Approx. 2 full boxes of Chex cereal (I use a combo of Corn Chex, Rice Chex and Wheat Chex)
Small box of Cheerios
Small bag of pretzels
2 lb. mixed nuts (I use cashews and peanuts, and sometimes pecans)

Mix first four ingredients in a large measuring cup. Pour all dry ingredients into a large roasting pan…I make sure it’s pretty full, which makes it hard to stir, but some get crunched up anyway. Spoon the oil mixture over the cereal, stirring as often as you can to coat all of it (much easier to do with another person helping – one pouring oil, one stirring GENTLY). Also keep stirring the oil mixture while you’re coating the cereal, because it separates very quickly. Bake at 250 degrees for 2 hours, stirring every 20 minutes. or 25 or 30 minutes if you’re me. Just make sure you stir it several times while you’re baking because you REALLY don’t want to burn your Chex Mix…that’d be bad.

The original recipe calls for 2 cups of oil, but I cut it and didn’t notice a difference at all, except that the pan had less oil in the bottom at the end of the process.

Here’s the delicious, healthy goodness that I will call breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack for the next week….
chex mix

Update to add: OOOPS! Just found out from Bennett that pretzel sticks are his favorite part of Chex Mix. Guess I’ll add those back in next time!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: On Advent. « Here’s the Diehl

Leave a Reply

