Chipotle Chili

I saw this recipe in Midwest Living while at my MIL’s for Christmas and thought it looked really good. Plus, I’ve been loving my new crockpot…I cooked so little between Thanksgiving and Christmas that it hadn’t been used until last week! But, I used it three times last week (for Italian Beef, Beef and Vegetable stew and chili).

Here it is, with my notes and additions:

Chipotle Black Bean Chili
1.5 lbs ground beef, ground pork, pork sausage, or ground turkey
(2) 14 oz cans of reduced-sodium beef broth
16 oz mild or medium chunky salsa
15 oz can of black beans, rinsed
1 can of Mexicorn (I substituted this for a can of hominy, because gross – hominy? Lye-soaked corn? I’m trying to abstain from lye in my diet.)
2 cups frozen diced hash browns with green peppers and onions (I used the Potatoes O’Brien from Ore-Ida)
1 small can of tomato paste
1 canned chipotle chili pepper in adobo sauce, finely chopped (CAUTION! Don’t rub your eyes or touch anything when handling this!) (These are found in the Mexican food aisle of your grocery store, in a small can)
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp dried, crushed oregano
1 tsp ground cumin
Chopped avocado and shredded cheddar cheese

Cook the meat, drain it thoroughly, and put all of the ingredients except for the avocado and cheese in a crock pot. Cook on low for 7-8 hours (I only needed 6-7) or high for 3.5-4 hours. Top with avocado and cheese and enjoy! Makes 6-8 servings.

* I happened to have a half pound of mild sausage already cooked with no planned use for it, so I just used that with a pound of extra-lean ground beef, which I seasoned with garlic salt and onion salt while cooking.
* This is definitely a spicy chili…Dad, you would LOVE this, I think. One chipotle pepper (in combination with medium salsa) was plenty for me. The recipe called for one or two peppers…I would strongly recommend using one the first time you make this.
* I used one can of reduced-sodium broth and one can of regular. All reduced-sodium just made me nervous that it was going to be bland.
* The tomato paste wasn’t in the original recipe. After it had cooked for several hours it was still really brothy, and I was afraid it wouldn’t thicken into chili. It did thicken up some more, so this made a really thick chili…next time, I might add a little more broth rather than omit the tomato paste, because otherwise, the only tomato flavor this chili gets is from the salsa, and I am not sure that would be enough.
* It’s very, very good served with cheddar and avocado. I don’t recommend skipping the avocado! Cornbread would also be great with this. Speaking of which, if you have a cornbread recipe you really, really love, will you please let me know?

please excuse the all-stirred-around-the-bowl look; i forgot i was going to take a picture of this.  oh, and do you love the freckled, overripe avocado chunks?  still tasted good.

please excuse the all-stirred-around-the-bowl look; i forgot i was going to take a picture of this. oh, and do you love the freckled, overripe avocado chunks? still tasted good.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Chipotle Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes | Three More Bites...

Leave a Reply

