Skinny Crockpot Chicken. A Must in Every Household.

I probably make this more than any other recipe I own.  It’s SO easy and a variety of meals can be made with it…..tacos, chicken nachos, enchiladas, burritos, the list is endless.  This can have some extra juice and Nicole added it to her veggie soup.  If you do something else with this recipe, let us know!  Have fun and be creative!

4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts (can be frozen)
1 package taco seasoning mix
1 jar salsa ( I use Chi Chi’s Fiesta Salsa)
1 small can diced green chilies
1 cup water

Place chicken in crockpot.  Mix taco seasoning, salsa, chilies, and water in mixing bowl.  Pour over chicken in crockpot.  Cook for 8 hrs on low heat.  Shred chicken and serve!  Yum.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicole
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 22:51:19

    I LOVE this recipe. Sometime, I’ll post how I make enchiladas with it. I use a little less water because I use less-chunky salsa than Sonya does.

    And in my new crockpot, it only takes about six hours…in my old one, I know it would have taken longer.

    Reply

  2. Jan
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 03:54:52

    What size jar is that salsa?

    This sounds similar to something I made a week or so ago. It was called “chicken tinga”. The chicken mixture was served on a crispy corn tortilla and topped with shredded cheese, lettuce, avocado and sour cream.

    Reply

    • kirksonya
      Mar 03, 2009 @ 12:44:25

      We buy salsa by the huge container cause we eat WAY too much of it! So, I just measure out about a cup and 3/4 of it which would be about 14oz. I made this yesterday and used about 3/4 cup of water also and it didn’t have as much juice leftover.

      Reply

  3. Nicole
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 04:11:36

    I used a 16 oz jar…Sonya, correct me if this is not what you use!

    Reply

  4. Jamie
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 15:47:43

    SO excited about this one. it’s going on the menu next week.

    Reply

  5. Jill (thebaglady)
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 08:37:58

    I think I have all of this in my kitchen today. I’m going right now to start it! I’m thinking we’ll do soft tacos & nachos with it. Thanks!!

    Reply

  6. ginger
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 23:25:04

    I FINALLY made this and can’t believe I waited so long…SO easy and SO good! And I had everything already! We did nachos with it and liked it much better than with beef. Already thinking about enchiladas, tacos, etc….yummmm! Thanks!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Salsa Chicken Pizza « Three More Bites…
  8. Aimee Hoene
    Jan 14, 2012 @ 12:17:59

    I am making this today – I know my family will love it. I’m just now starting to use the crock pot more often for actual meals – so easy, don’t know why I’ve waited so long. You girls have great recipes on here – thank you SO much! -Aimee

    Reply

  9. Trackback: White Chicken Enchiladas « Three More Bites…
  10. Trackback: Easy Chicken Taco Soup « Three More Bites…
  11. Trackback: Baked Creamy Chicken Taquitos « Three More Bites…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

